Board Members

Our Board meets on the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in our office. Meetings are open to the public.

Kirrena Gallagher1

Kirrena Gallagher

Kirrena works as the County Coordinator for Oglethorpe County Family Connection, a branch of Georgia Family Connection. Kirrena is a homeowner with Athens Land Trust, and she became Vice-President of the Board in February 2015. She currently serves on the Housing committee.

Nancy Stangle1

Nancy Stangle

As co-Founder and former Executive Director of Athens Land Trust, Nancy played an essential role in the formation of ALT in 1994 as one of the few organizations in the country that is both a conservation and community land trust. She currently serves on the Finance and Development committees.


Sarah Yates Sutherland

Vice President
Sarah has over four decades of construction experience, including development, general contracting, historic restoration and construction program management for non-profit clients. She also serves as Vice President of Wholesome Wave Georgia’s Board of Directors. She currently serves on the Housing and Development committees.

Dan Lorentz1

Dan Lorentz

An early volunteer and chairperson of the Boulevard Neighborhood Association’s neighborhood park standing committee, Dan coordinated efforts to create the community park of Boulevard Woods. He currently serves on the Development committee and is Event Chair for the Harvest Moon dinner.

Darren Ash1

Darren Ash

Darren is the Founder and Executive Director of Common Wealth Charlotte. He has served on the boards of 10 poverty/homeless services non-profits in Charlotte, NC, and Mexico over the last 20 years. Darren joined the board because of his passion for ALT’s work in the West Broad community. He currently serves on the Development committee.

Gloria Bizzle1

Gloria Bizzle

Gloria is a retired employee of University of Georgia and a homeowner with Athens Land Trust. She currently serves on the Housing committee.

Willa Fambrough1

Willa Fambrough

Willa Fambrough is the owner of ICook_ieForYou, a baking business in Athens, Georgia. Ms. Fambrough is a vendor at the West Broad Farmers Market, selling delicious cookies, cakes, and other baked goods. She is the Chairperson of the Community Agriculture committee.

Beth Gavrilles1

Beth Gavrilles

Beth works as the Communications Coordinator at University of Georgia Odum School of Ecology, where she conveys information about ground-breaking scientific research, teaching, outreach, and people to the greater public. She currently serves on the Conservation committee.

Pearl Hall1

Pearl Hall

Pearl Hall works for Clarke County School District and is a homeowner with Athens Land Trust. Pearl serves on ALT’s Education committee.

Untitled design (6)

Charley Hill

Charley Hill is a commercial developer in Atlanta, GA, and currently serves on the Development committee.

Untitled design (6)

Eric Orbock

Eric is the Executive Director of University of Georgia’s Real Estate Foundation. He is a former investment banker with over 15 years of experience in university-related real estate development and finance. He currently serves on the Conservation committee.

Michael Thurmond1

Michael L. Thurmond

Michael L. Thurmond works as the Chief Executive Officer of DeKalb County, Georgia. Michael is a former member of the Georgia General Assembly and is responsible for enhancing operations of organizations such as the Georgia Division of Family and Children Services, the Georgia Department of Labor, and the DeKalb County School District.